More commissioners resign as Buhari’s ministers refuse

More commissioners resign as Buhari’s ministers refuse

At least, 13 commissioners have resigned their appointments in Sokoto State ahead of the primary elections in accordance with the Electoral Act, bringing the total number of commissioners that had resigned in order to contest elections to over 60 across the 36 states, The PUNCH can confirm.

A statement signed by the Special Adviser to the governor on Media and Publicity, Muhammad Bello, on Wednesday said Governor Aminu Tambuwal had accepted their resignations accordingly.

The statement read in part, “Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal,  has accepted the resignation of 13 key portfolio holders in his administration, which include Manir Iya, the deputy governor, who was also the overseer of the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

“The remaining commissioners are those hitherto manning Ministries of Finance, Environment, Youths and Sports, Lands and Housing; as well as Careers and Security: Abdussamad Dasuki, Sagir Bafarawa, Bashir Gorau, Aminu Bodinga and Col. Garba Moyi (retd) respectively.

“Other commissioners who resigned are those of Commerce, Works, Water Resources, Solid Minerals and Religious Affairs: Bashir Gidado, Salihu Maidaji, Shuaibu Gobir, Abubakar Ahmad and Abdullahi Maigwandu correspondingly.

“More of those who resigned include the Secretary to the State Government, Mallam Sa’idu Umar and the Chief of Staff, Mukhtar Magori.”

The PUNCH reports that Sokoto is not the only state where commissioners have resigned. In Kano State, no fewer than 10 commissioners have resigned while in Delta State at least nine have stepped down. The case is the same in Kwara  State where no fewer than seven commissioners have stepped aside while in Bayelsa State at least five have resigned.

In Lagos State, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu recently asked members of his cabinet seeking to run for office to resign.

Copyright PUNCH.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *